On May 12, 1967.

Are you experienced

On May 12, 1967, “Track” label released “Are You Experienced”, the debut Jimi Hendrix Experience studio album. It was recorded October 1966 – April 1967, at “De Lane Lea”, “CBS Studios” and “Olympic Studios” in London, and was produced by Chas Chandler. In 2005, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “Are You Experienced” at number fifteenth on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”. The same magazine ranked four album songs on its list of the “500 Greatest Songs of All Time”: “Purple Haze” at number 17, “Foxy Lady” at number 153, “Hey Joe” at number 201, and “The Wind Cries Mary” at number 379. “Mojo” magazine voted “Are You Experienced” as the greatest guitar album of all time.


  • Jimi Hendrix— vocals, guitars
  • Noel Redding— bass, backing vocals
  • Mitch Mitchell— drums, backing vocals
  • The Breakaways— backing vocals
  • Dave Siddle — engineer
  • Eddie Kramer— engineer
  • Mike Ross — engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Jimi Hendrix.

  1. Foxy Lady
  2. Manic Depression
  3. Red House
  4. Can You See Me
  5. Love or Confusion
  6. I Don’t Live Today
  7. May This Be Love
  8. Fire
  9. Third Stone From the Sun
  10. Remember
  11. Are You Experienced

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.