On May 11, 1967.


On May 11, 1967, “Vanguard” label released “Electric Music for the Mind and Body”, the debut Country Joe and the Fish album. It was recorded in  February 1967, at “Sierra Sound Laboratories” in Berkeley, California, and was produced by Samuel Charters.


  • Country Joe McDonald – vocals, guitar, bells, tambourine
  • Barry Melton – vocals, guitar
  • David Cohen – guitar, organ
  • Bruce Barthol – bass, harmonica
  • Gary “Chicken” Hirsh – drums
  • Robert Di Souza – recording
  • Jules Halfant – design
  • Michael Wiese – photography
  • John Bagley – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Country Joe McDonald, except where noted

  1. Flying High
  2. Not So Sweet Martha Lorraine
  3. Death Sound Blues
  4. Happiness Is a Porpoise Mouth
  5. Section 43
  6. Superbird
  7. Sad and Lonely Times
  8. Love – Country McDonald, Berry Melton, David Cohen, Bruce Barthol, Gunning, Garry “Chicken” Hirsh
  9. Bass Strings
  10. The Masked Marauder
  11. Grace

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.