On May 11, 1972.

Meters - Cabbage Alley

On May 11, 1972, “Reprise” label released “Cabbage Alley”, the fourth Meters studio album. It was recorded in 1972, and was produced by Allen Toussaint and Marshall Sehorn.


  • Art Neville – vocals, keyboards, organ, piano, tambourine, cowbell
  • Leo Nocentelli – vocals, guitar, tambourine
  • George Porter, Jr– bass
  • Ziggy Modeliste – cowbell, drums, gourd, wood block
  • Cyril Neville– congas
  • Squirell – congas
  • Bob Irwin – mastering
  • Al Quaglieri – mastering
  • Rich Russell – design
  • Ed Thrasher– art direction
  • David Willardson– cover art

Track listing:

  1. You’ve Got to Change (You’ve Got to Reform) – Leo Niocentelli, Ziggy Modeliste
  2. Stay Away – Leo Niocentelli
  3. Birds – Neil Young
  4. The Flower Song – Leo Niocentelli
  5. Soul Island – Ziggy Modeliste, Art Neville, Leo Niocentelli, George Porter Jr,
  6. Do the Dirt – Leo Niocentelli
  7. Smiling – Art Neville
  8. Lonesome and Unwanted People – Leo Niocentelli
  9. Getting’ Funkier All the Time – Ziggy Modeliste, George Porter Jr, Leo Niocentelli
  10. Cabbage Alley – Art Neville

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.