On May 5, 1981.

Tom Petty - Hard Promises

On May 5, 1981, “Backstreet” label released “Hard Promises”, the fourth Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers album. It was recorded 1980–1981, at “Sound City”, “Van Nuys”, “Cherokee Studios” in Hollywood, and was produced by Jimmy Iovine and Tom Petty.


  • Tom Petty– lead vocals, 6 and 12 string guitar, acoustic and electric guitars, electric piano, bass guitar
  • Mike Campbell– 6 and 12 string guitar, electric guitars, bass guitar, auto-harp, accordion, harmonium
  • Benmont Tench– organ, piano, backing vocals
  • Ron Blair– bass guitar
  • Stan Lynch– drums, backing vocals
  • Phil Jones – percussion
  • Alan “Bugs” Weidel – piano
  • Donald “Duck” Dunn– bass guitar
  • Stevie Nicks– harmony and backing vocal
  • Lori Nicks – backing vocal
  • Sharon Celani – backing vocal

Track listing:

All tracks by Tom Petty, except where noted.

  1. The Waiting
  2. A Woman in Love (It’s Not Me) – Tom Petty, Mike Campbell
  3. Nightwatchman – Tom Petty, Mike Campbel
  4. Something Big
  5. Kings Road
  6. Letting You Go
  7. A Thing About You
  8. Insider
  9. The Criminal Kind
  10. You Can Still Change Your Mind – Tom Petty, Mike Campbell

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.