On April 30, 1991.


On April 30, 1991, “Reprise” label released “Why Do Birds Sing?”,the fifth Violent Femmes studio album. It was recorded in 1990, and was produced by Gordon Gano, Brian Ritchie, Victor DeLorenzo and Michael Beinhorn.


  • Gordon Gano- vocals, guitar
  • Brian Ritchie- vocals, bass, guitar, bouzouki, banjo, ukulele, mouth harp, didgeridoo, xylophone, glockenspiel
  • Victor DeLorenzo- vocals, drums, brushes, tranceaphone, tambourine, shakers, sleigh bells, tympani, firewood, cowbell, bongos, conga, fire extinguisher
  • Michael Beinhorn- Hammond organ, Mellotron, piano, harmonium
  • Sid Page, Suzie Katayama, Ilene Novog, Larry Corbett – strings
  • Tommy Mandel- keyboards
  • Eric “ET” Thorngren – engineer, mixing
  • David Vartanian – mixing
  • Susan Rogers – engineer
  • Tom Fritze – engineer assistant
  • Lori Fumar – engineer assistant
  • Mike Kloster – engineer assistant
  • Howie Weinberg– mastering
  • Mary Jones – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Gordon Gano, except where noted.

  1. American Music
  2. Out of the Window
  3. Look Like That
  4. Do You Really Want to Hurt Me? – George O’Dowd,Mikey Craig, Roy Hay, Jon Moss, Gano
  5. “Hey Nonny Nonny – Shepard Tonie, Gano
  6. Used to Be
  7. Girl Trouble
  8. He Likes Me
  9. Life is a Scream
  10. Flamingo Baby
  11. Lack of Knowledge
  12. More Money Tonight
  13. I’m Free

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.