On April 28, 1992.


On April 28, 1992, “Elektra” label released “Matters of the Heart”, the third Tracy Chapman album. It was recorded 1990 – 1992, and was produced by Tracy Chapman and Jimmy Iovine.


  • Tracy Chapman –vocals, acoustic guitar, art direction
  • Roy Bittan– accordion, keyboard
  • Charles Judge, Larry Williams – keyboard
  • Mike Campbell– bouzouki, mandolin, electric guitar
  • Vernon Reid– electric guitar
  • Waddy Wachtel– electric guitar
  • Bobby Womack– acoustic Guitar
  • Tony Levin– bass
  • Randy “The Emperor” Jackson– bass
  • Larry Klein– bass
  • Bob Glaub– bass
  • Manu Katché– drums
  • Omar Hakim– drums
  • Alejandro “Alex” Acuña– percussion
  • Mino Cinelu& Steve Thornton – percussion
  • Michael Fisher– percussion
  • Nellee Hooper– percussion
  • David Bianco, Niko Bolas, Nellee Hooper, Femi Jiya, Bradshaw Leigh, Thom Panunzio, Mark “Spike” Stent – engineer
  • Chad Blinman, Greg Goldman, Ed Korengo, Chad Munsey, Joe Pirrera, Rick Plank – assistant engineer
  • Bob Clearmountain, Femi Jiya – mixing
  • Bob Ludwig – mastering
  • Susie Tallman – coordination

Track listing:

All tracks by Tracy Chapman.

  1. Bang Bang Bang
  2. So
  3. I Used to Be a Sailor
  4. The Love That You Had
  5. Woman’s Work
  6. If These Are the Things
  7. Short Supply (Jigten; For Richmond)
  8. Dreaming on a World
  9. Open Arms
  10. Matters of the Heart

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.