On April 19, 1968.


On April 19, 1968, “CBS” label released “Odessey and Oracle”, the second Zombies” studio album. It was recorded June – November 1967, at “Abbey Road Studios” and “Olympic Studios” in London, and was produced by The Zombies. In 2012, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 100 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”; “NME” magazine ranked the album at number 32 on its list of “100 Greatest British Albums Ever!”; “The Guardian” ranked “Odessey and Oracle” at number 77 on its list of “Alternative Top 100 Albums Ever”;  “Mojo” magazine placed it at number 97 in its “100 Greatest Albums Ever Made” list; “Q” magazine ranked the album at number 26 on its list of the “50 Best British Albums Ever!”.


  • Colin Blunstone– lead vocals
  • Rod Argent– organ, piano, harpsichord, Mellotron,
  • Paul Atkinson– guitar, vocals
  • Chris White– bass guitar, vocals
  • Hugh Grundy– drums, vocals
  • Geoff Emerick– engineering
  • Peter Vince– engineering
  • Jools DeVere – design
  1. Care of Cell 44 – Rod Argent
  2. A Rose for Emily – Rod Argent
  3. Maybe After He’s Gone – Chris White
  4. Brief Candles – Chris White
  5. Hung Up on a Dream – Rod Argent
  6. Changes – Chris White
  7. I Want Her, She Wants Me – Rod Argent
  8. This Will Be Our Year – Chris White
  9. Butcher’s Tale (Western Front 1914) – Chris White
  10. Friends of Mine – Chris White
  11. Time of the Season – Rod Argent

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.