On April 12, 1972.


On April 12, 1972, “Atlantic” label released the self-titled, debut  Manassas album. It was recorded at “Criteria Sound Studios” in Miami, and was produced by Stephen Stills, Chris Hillman and Dallas Taylor.


  • Stephen Stills- vocals, guitar, bottleneck guitar, piano, organ, electric piano, clavinette
  • Chris Hillman- vocals, guitar, mandolin
  • Al Perkins- vocals, pedal steel guitar, guitar
  • Calvin “Fuzzy” Samuel – bass
  • Paul Harris- organ, tack piano, piano, electric piano, clavinette
  • Dallas Taylor- drums
  • Joe Lala- vocals, percussion
  • Sydney George – harmonica
  • Jerry Aiello – piano, organ, electric piano, clavinette
  • Bill Wyman– bass
  • Roger Bush – acoustic bass
  • Byron Berline– fiddle
  • Jerry Garcia- pedal steel guitar

Track listing:

All tracks by Stephen Stills, except where noted.

  1. The Raven
  2. Song of Love
  3. Medley
  • Rock & Roll Crazies – Stephen Stills, Dallas Taylor
  • Cuban Bluegrass – Stephen Stills, Joe Lala
  1. Jet Set (Sigh)
  2. Anyway
  3. Both of Us (Bound to Lose) – Stephen Stills, Chris Hillman

The Wilderness

  1. Fallen Eagle
  2. Jesus Gave Love Away for Free
  3. Colorado
  4. So Begins the Task
  5. Hide It So Deep
  6. Don’t Look at My Shadow


1.    It Doesn’t Matter – Chris Hillman, Rick Roberts, Stephen Stills

2.    Johnny’s Garden

3.    Bound to Fall – Mike Brewer, Tom Mastin

4.    How Far

5.    Move Around

6.    The Love Gangster – Stephen Stills, Bill Wyman

Rock & Roll Is Here to Stay

  1. What to Do
  2. Right Now
  3. The Treasure (Take One)
  4. Blues Man

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.