On April 6, 1981.

The Birthday Party Prayers On Fire

On April 6, 1981, “4AD” label released “Prayers on Fire”, the debut Birthday Party studio album. It was recorded December 1980 – January 1981, at “A.A.V. Studio 2” in Melbourne, and was produced by Tony Cohen and The Birthday Party.


  • Nick Cave– lead vocals, piano, saxophone,drums
  • Rowland S. Howard– lead and backing vocals, guitar, saxophone, snare drum
  • Mick Harvey– organ, piano, guitar
  • Tracy Pew– bass guitar, clarinet, double bass
  • Phill Calvert– drums
  • Mick Hauser – tenor saxophone
  • Phillip Jackson – trumpet
  • Stephen Ewart – trombone
  • Tony Cohen – engineer
  • Jenny, Poly and Evan – photography

Track listing:

  1. Zoo-Music Girl – Rowland S. Howard, Nick Cave
  2. Cry – Nick Cave
  3. Capers – Roland S.Howard, Genevieve McGuckin
  4. Nick the Stripper – Nick Cave
  5. Ho-Ho – McGuckin, Rowland S. Howard
  6. Figure of Fun – Nick Cave, Rowland S. Howard
  7. King Ink – Nick Cave, Rowland S. Howard
  8. A Dead Song – Nick Cave, Anita Lane
  9. Yard – Nick Cave
  10. Dull Day – Rowland S. Howard
  11. Just You and Me – Nick Cave, Mick Harvey

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.