On April 6, 1971.


On April 5, 1971, “RCA” label released “Poems, Prayers & Promises”, the fourth John Denver album. It was recorded in 1970 – 1971, and was produced by Milton Okun and  Susan Ruskin. The album contains contains “Take Me Home, Country Roads”, which would become Denver’s signature song.


  • John Denver – vocals, 6 and 12-string acoustic guitars
  • Taffy Nivert– vocals
  • Bill Danoff– vocals, guitar
  • Eric Weissberg– banjo, steel guitars
  • Mike Taylor– acoustic guitar
  • Frank Owens – piano
  • Richard Kniss – double bass
  • Gary Chester– drums, percussion
  • Don Wardell – executive producer

Track listing:

  1. Poems, Prayers and Promises – John Denver
  2. Let It be – John Lennon, Paul McCartney
  3. My Sweet Lady – John Denver
  4. Wooden Indian – John Denver
  5. Junk – Paul McCartney
  6. Gospel Changes – Jack Williams
  7. Take Me Home Country Roads – Bill Danoff, Taffy Nivert, John Denver
  8. I Guess He’d Rather Be in Colorado Bill Danoff and Taffy Nivert
  9. Sunshine on My Shoulders – John Denver, Richard Kriss, Mike Taylor
  10. Around & Around – John Denver
  11. Fire and Rain – James Taylor
  12. The Box – Kendrew Lascelles

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.