On April 5, 2005.


On April 5, 2005, “Jagjaguwar” label released “Black Sheep Boy”, the third Okkervil River studio album. It was recorded in 2005, at “Brian Beattie’s Wonder Chamber” in Austin, and was produced by Will Sheff, Howard Draper,  Zachary Thomas, Jonathan Melburg and Travis Nelsen. The album cover features the work of Providence artist William Schaff.


  • Will Sheff – vocals, acoustic and electric guitar, Wurlitzer
  • Howard Draper – lap steel, pump organ, mandolin, bass, synthesizer
  • Jonathan Meiburg – vocals, piano, Wurlitzer, pump organ, Casio SK-1, electric guitar
  • Zachary Thomas – vocals, bass, mandolin
  • Travis Nelsen – vocals, drums, tambourine
  • Seth Warren – electronics, drums, vibraphone, whirlies, shaker
  • Brian Beattie – bowed bass, sampler, field recordings
  • Michael Kapinus – trumpet
  • Caroline Slack – violin
  • Rebecca Browne – violin
  • Alison Derrick – viola
  • Ben Westney – cello
  • Victoria Wolff – cello
  • Amy Annelle – harmony vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Will Sheff, except where noted.

  1. Black Sheep Boy – Tim Hardin
  2. For Real
  3. In a Radio Song
  4. Black
  5. Get Big
  6. A King And a Queen
  7. A Stone
  8. The latest Toughs
  9. Song of Our So-Called Friend
  10. So Come Back, I Am Waiting
  11. A Glow

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.