On March 30, 1973.


On March 30, 1973, “Columbia” label released “Sextant”, the eleventh Herbie Hancock album. This is his last album with Mwandishi Band and the first one for “Columbia” label. It was recorded in 1972, at “Wally Heider Studios” and “Different Fur Studios” in San Francisco, and was produced by David Rubinson.


  • MWANDISHI (Herbie Hancock) – piano, Fender Rhodes, Hohner D6 Clavinet, mellotron, ARP 2600, ARP Pro Soloist, Moog
  • MWILE (Bennie Maupin) – soprano Sax, bass clarinet, piccolo, afuche, Hum-A-Zoo
  • Patrick Gleeson- ARP 2600, ARP Pro Soloist
  • MGANGA ( Eddie Henderson) – trumpet, flugelhorn
  • PEPO (Julian Priester) – bass trombone, tenor trombone, alto trombone, cowbell
  • MCHEZAJI (Buster Williams) – electric bass, acoustic bass
  • JABALI (Billy Hart) – drums
  • Buck Clarke – percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Herbie Hancock

  1. Rain Dance
  2. Hidden Shadows
  3. Hornets

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.