On March 23, 1988.

Chal Mark_

On March 23, 1988, “Geffen” label released “Chalk Mark in a Rain Storm”, the 13th Joni Mitchell album. It was recorded 1986 – 1987, and was produced by Joni Mitchell and Larry Klein.


  • Joni Mitchell – vocals, guitar, keyboards, drum programming
  • Michael Landau– guitar, backing vocals
  • Steve Stevens- lead guitar
  • Steven Lindsey – organ
  • Larry Klein- bass, keyboards, congas, programming, backing vocals
  • Manu Katché- drums, percussion, talking drum, snare drum, backing vocals
  • Wayne Shorter- saxophones
  • Thomas Dolby- marimba
  • Peter Gabriel– vocals
  • Willie Nelson- vocals
  • Iron Eyes Cody– vocals
  • Billy Idol– vocals
  • Tom Petty– vocals
  • Benjamin Orr- backing vocals
  • Don Henley- backing vocals
  • Wendy Melvoin- backing vocals
  • Lisa Coleman- backing vocals
  • Julie Last – backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Joni Mitchell, except where noted.

  1. My Secret Place
  2. Number One
  3. Lakota – Joni Mitchell and Larry Klein
  4. The Tea Leaf Prophecy – (Lay Down Your Arms) – Joni Mitchell and Larry Klein
  5. Dancin’ Clown
  6. Cool Water – Joni Mitchell and Bob Nolan
  7. The Beat of Black Wings
  8. Snakes and Ladders – Joni Mitchell and Larry Klein
  9. The Reoccurring Dream – Joni Mitchell and Larry Klein
  10. A Bird That Whistles (Corrina, Corrina) – traditional

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.