On March 22, 1974.


On March 22, 1974, “DiscReet” label released “Apostrophe”, the eighteenth Frank Zappa album. It was recorded 1969 – 1974, at “Electric Lady Studios” in New York City; “Bolic” in Inglewood and “Paramount Studios” in Hollywood, and was produced by Frank Zappa. The album was released in stereo and quadraphonic formats.


  • Frank Zappa– vocals, guitar, bass, bouzouki
  • Tony Duran– rhythm guitar
  • George Duke– keyboards, backing vocals
  • Tom Fowler– bass guitar
  • Erroneous (Alex Dmochowski) – bass guitar
  • Jack Bruce– bass
  • Aynsley Dunbar– drums
  • Ralph Humphrey – drums
  • Johnny Guerin– drums
  • Jim Gordon– drums
  • Ruth Underwood– percussion
  • Ian Underwood– saxophone
  • Napoleon Murphy Brock– saxophone, backing vocals
  • Sal Marquez –trumpet
  • Bruce Fowler– trombone
  • Don “Sugarcane” Harris– violin
  • Jean-Luc Ponty– violin
  • Lynn – vocals, backing vocals
  • Robert “Frog” Camarena, Ruben Ladron de Guevara, Debbie – vocals, backing vocals
  • Ray Collins– backing vocals
  • Sue Glover – backing vocals
  • Kerry McNabb – backing vocals, engineer, remixing
  • Barry Keene – engineer
  • Steve Desper – engineer
  • Terry Dunavan – engineer
  • Bob Hughes – engineer
  • Cal Schenkel– artwork, design
  • Ferenc Dobronyi – design
  • Bob Ludwig, Paul Hof, Oscar Kergaives, Brian Krokus, Mark Aalyson – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Frank Zappa, except where noted.

  1. Don’t Eat the Yellow Snow
  2. Nanook Rubs It
  3. Alfonzo’s Pancake Breakfast
  4. Father O’Blivion
  5. Excentrifugal Forz
  6. Apostrophe – Frank Zappa, Jim Gordon, Jack Bruce
  7. Uncle Remus – Frank Zappa, George Duke
  8. Stink-Foot

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.