On March 22, 1974.


On March 22, 1974,”Asylum” label released “On the Border”, the third Eagles studio album. It was recorded at “Record Plant Studios” in Los Angeles, and “Olympic Studios” in London, and was produced by Bill Szymczyk and Glyn Johns. “On the Border” is the first Eagles album to be released in Quadraphonic sound.


  1. Don Felder– lead and slide guitar
  2. Glenn Frey– vocals, guitars, slide guitar, piano
  3. Don Henley– vocals, drums
  4. Bernie Leadon– vocals, guitars, banjo, pedal steel guitar
  5. Randy Meisner– vocals, bass guitar
  6. Al Perkins– pedal steel guitar
  7. Bill Szymczyk– producer, engineer
  8. Glyn Johns– engineer
  9. Rod Thear, Gary Ladinsky, Allan Blazek – engineer
  10. Beatian Yazz – painting
  11. Henry Diltz– photography
  12. Rick Griffin– lettering
  13. Gary Burden – art direction, design

Track listing:

  1. Already Gone – Jack Tempchin, Robb Strandlund
  2. You Never Cry Like a Lover – D. Souther, Don Henley
  3. Midnight Flyer – Paul Craft
  4. My Man – Bernie Leadon
  5. On the Border – Don Henley, Bernie Leadon, Glenn Frey
  6. James Dean – Jackson Browne, Glenn Frey, J.S. Souther, Don Henley
  7. Ol’ ’55” – Tom Waits
  8. Is It True? – Randy Meisner
  9. Good Day in Hell – Don Henley, Glenn Frey
  10. Best of My Love – Don Henley, Glenn Frey, J.D. Souther


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.