On March 22, 1963.


On March 22, 1963, “Parlaphone” label released “Please Please Me”, the debut Beatles studio album. It was recorded September 11,  November 26, 1962, February 11 – 20, 1963, at “EMI Studios” in London, and was produced by George Martin. The album was released as a mono LP, the stereo version was released on April 26, same year. In 2012, magazine “Rolling Stone” ranked “Please Please Me” at number 39 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time.” “Rolling Stone” also ranked two songs from the album on its list of “500 Greatest Songs of All Time” – number 140, “I Saw Her Standing There”, and number 186, “Please Please Me”.


  • John Lennon– lead and backing vocals, acoustic and rhythm guitar, harmonica, hand claps
  • Paul McCartney– lead and backing vocals, bass guitar, hand claps
  • George Harrison – lead and backing vocals, acoustic and lead guitar, hand claps
  • Ringo Starr– lead vocals, drums, tambourine, maracas, hand claps
  • Andy White– drums, percussion
  • George Martin – piano, celesta, mixing, additional arrangements
  • Norman Smith – engineer, mixing

Track listing:

All tracks by John Lennon and Paul McCartney, except where noted.

  1. I Saw Her Standing There
  2. Misery
  3. Anna (Go to Him) – Arthur Alexander
  4. Chains – Gerry Goffin, Carole King
  5. Boys – Luther Dixon, Wes Farrell
  6. Ask Me Why
  7. Please Please Me
  8. Love Me Do
  9. P. S. I Love You
  10. Baby It’s You – Mack David, Barney Williams, Burt Bacharach
  11. Do You Want to Know a Secret?
  12. A Taste of Honey – Bobby Scott, Ric Marlow
  13. There’s a Place
  14. Twist and Shout – Phil Medley, Bert Russell

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.