On March 17, 1977.


On March 17, 1977, “Atlantic” label released “Works Volume 1”, the fifth Emerson, Lake & Palmer studio album. It was recorded in 1976, at “Mountain Recording Studios” in Montreux, and “EMI Studios” in Paris, and was produced by Keith Emerson, Greg Lake, Carl Palmer and Peter Sinfield. “Works Volume 1” is a double album divided into four sections, three highlighting each band member and one for mutual works.


  • Keith Emerson – keyboards
  • Greg Lake – vocals, guitars, bass
  • Carl Palmer – drums, percussion
  • London Philharmonic Orchestra
  • John Mayer – conductor
  • Godfrey Salmon – orchestra and choir conductor
  • Orchestre de l’Opera national de Paris
  • Joe Walsh – vocals, guitars
  • Tony Harris – orchestral arrangements
  • John Timperley – engineer
  • Roger Cameron – engineer
  • Ashley Newton – art direction
  • Ian Murray – artwork, design
  • David Montgomery – photography
  • Kenny Smith – photography
  • Alex Grob – photography

Track listing:

Side one: Keith Emerson

Piano Concerto No. 1 – Keith Emerson

  • First Movement: Allegro giojoso
  • Second Movement: Andante molto cantabile
  • Third Movement: Toccata con fuoco

Side Two: Greg Lake

  1. Lend Your Love to Me Tonight – Greg Lake, Peter Sinfield
  2. C’est la Vie – Greg Lake, Peter Sinfield
  3. Hallowed Be Thy Name – Greg Lake, Peter Sinfield
  4. Nobody Loves You Like I Do – Greg Lake, Peter Sinfield
  5. Closer to Believing – Greg Lake, Peter Sinfield

Side Three: Carl Palmer

  1. The Enemy God Dances with the Black Spirits – Sergei Prokofiev, Keith Emerson, Greg Lake, Carl Palmer
  2. A Nights – Carl Palmer
  3. New Orleans – Carl Palmer
  4. Two Part Invention in D Minor – S. Bach, arr. Carl Palmer
  5. Food for Your Soul – Carl Palmer
  6. Tank – Keith Emerson, Carl Palmer

Side Four: Emerson, Lake and Palmer

  1. Fanfare for the Common Man – Aaron Copland, arr.Keith Emerson, Greg Lake, Carl  Palmer
  2. Pirates – Keith Emerson, Greg Lake, Peter Sinfield

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.