On March 12, 1991.


On March 12, 1991, “Warner Bros” label released “Out of Time”, the seventh R.E.M. studio album. It was recorded in September 1990, at “Bearsville Studios” in New York, “John Keane Studios”, “Soundscape Studios” in Atlanta, Georgia, “Prince’s Paisley Park Studios” in Chanhassen, Minnesota, and was produced by Scott Litt , Michael Stipe, Peter Buck, Mike Mills and Bill Berry. “ In 1992, the album won three “Grammy Awards” – “Best Alternative Music Album”, and two for the first single, “Losing My Religion.” It was certified Platinum in US by “RIAA”.


  • Michael Stipe- lead and backing vocals, bass melodica and arrangement, packaging, photography
  • Peter Buck- electric and acoustic guitars, mandolin
  • Mike Mills- bass guitar, lead and backing vocals, organ,  piano , harpsichord, percussion, keyboards
  • Bill Berry- drum, percussion, congas, bass guitar, piano, backing vocals
  • David Arenz, Ellie Arenz, David Braitberg, Dave Kempers – violin
  • Mark Bingham– string arrangements
  • Andrew Cox , Elizabeth Murphy – cello
  • Reid Harris – viola
  • Peter Holsapple– bass guitar, acoustic guitar
  • Ralph Jones – double bass
  • Kidd Jordan– baritone saxophone, tenor saxophone, alto saxophone, bass clarinet
  • John Keane– pedal steel guitar
  • KRS-One– rapping
  • Scott Litt– echo-loop feed
  • Paul Murphy – lead viola
  • Kate Pierson– vocals
  • Jay Weigel– orchestral liaison
  • Cecil Welch – flugelhorn
  • Ben Katchor, Ed Rogers – illustrations
  • Tom Recchion – packaging
  • Karina Santo, Doug Starn, Mike Starn, Frank Ockenfels – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Bill Berry, Peter Buck, Mike Mills and Michael Stipe.

  1. Radio Song
  2. Losing My Religion
  3. Low
  4. Near Wild Heaven
  5. Endgame
  6. Shiny Happy People
  7. Belong
  8. Half a World Away
  9. Texarkana
  10. Country Feedback
  11. Me in Honey




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.