On March 8, 1974.


On March 8, 1974, “Parlaphone” label released “Queen II”, the second Queen studio album. It was recorded in August 1973, at “Trident Studios” in London, and was produced by Roy Thomas Baker, Robin Geoffrey Cable, Freddie Mercury, Brian May, Roger Taylor and John Deacon. The cover photography was by Mick Rock. In the 1994 edition of “The Guinness All Time Top 1000 Albums”, “Queen II” was voted number 202. In 2005, “Kerrang!” magazine readers voted “Queen II” the 72nd greatest British rock album ever. In 2006, the album was featured in “Classic Rock and Metal Hammer’s “The 200 Greatest Albums of the 70s.”


  • Freddie Mercury– lead and backing vocals,  piano,  harpsichord, string piano
  • Brian May– lead and backing vocals, electric and acoustic guitars, bells, piano, organ
  • Roger Taylor– lead and backing vocals, drums, gong, marimba
  • John Deacon– bass guitar, acoustic guitar
  • Roy Thomas Baker– castanets, stylophone
  • Robin Cable – piano effects 

Track listing:

All tracks by Brian May except where noted.

White Side

  1. Procession
  2. Father to Son
  3. White Queen (As It Began)
  4. Some Day One Day
  5. The Loser in the End – Roger Taylor

Black Side

All tracks by Freddie Mercury.

  1. Ogre Battle
  2. The Fairy Feller’s Master-Stroke
  3. Nevermore
  4. The March of the Black Queen
  5. Funny How Love Is
  6. Seven Seas of Rhye



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.