On March 6, 2006.


On March 6, 2006, “EMI” label released “On an Island”, the third David Gilmour solo album. It was recorded 2001 – 2005, and was produced by David Gilmour, Phil Manzanera and Chris Thomas.


  • David Gilmour – lead vocals, guitars, lap steel guitars, electric piano, percussion, bass guitar, piano, alto saxophone,  cümbüş, bass harmonica, Hammond organ
  • Richard Wright- lead vocals, Hammond organ
  • Chris Stainton- Hammond organ
  • Georgie Fame- Hammond organ
  • Paul “Wix” Wickens- Hammond organ
  • Chris Thomas- keyboards
  • Jools Holland- piano
  • Polly Samson- piano, backing vocals
  • Leszek Możdżer- piano
  • BJ Cole- Weissenborn guitar
  • Phil Manzanera- guitar
  • Rado Klose- guitar
  • Chris Laurence- double bass
  • Guy Pratt- bass guitar
  • Andy Newmark- drums, percussion
  • Ged Lynch- drums
  • Willie Wilson- drums
  • Robert Wyatt- cornet, percussion, vocals
  • David Crosby- vocals
  • Graham Nash- vocals
  • Caroline Dale- cello
  • Alasdair Malloy – glass harmonica
  • Lucy Wakeford – harp
  • Ilan Eshkeri- programming
  • Zbigniew Preisner- orchestration

Track listing:

  1. Castellorizon – David Gilmour
  2. On an Island – David Gilmour, Polly Samson
  3. The Blue – David Gilmour, Polly Samson
  4. Take a Breath – David Gilmour, Polly Samson
  5. Red Sky at Night – David Gilmour
  6. This Heaven – David Gilmour, Polly Samson
  7. Then I Close My Eyes – David Gilmour
  8. Smile – David Gilmour, Polly Samson
  9. A Pocketful of Stones – David Gilmour, Polly Samson
  10. Where We Start – David Gilmour


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.