On February 28, 1979.


On February 28, 1979, “Warner Bros” released the self-titled, debut Rickie Lee Jones album. It  was recorded in 1978, at “Warner Bros. Recording Studios” and “The Burbank Studios”, and was produced by Lenny Waronker  and  Russ Titelman. In 1980, the album won Rickie Lee Jones “Grammy” for “Best New Artist.”


  • Rickie Lee Jones – vocals, guitar, keyboards, percussion, horn arrangements, drums, bass
  • Dr. John- keyboards
  • Michael McDonald- vocals
  • Randy Newman- synthesizer
  • Victor Feldman- percussion, drums, keyboards
  • Tom Scott- horns
  • Ralph Grierson – keyboards
  • Michael Boddicker- synthesizer
  • Red Callender- bass
  • Nick DeCaro – accordion, orchestral arrangements
  • Buzz Feiten- guitar
  • Chuck Findley- horns
  • Steve Gadd- drums
  • Randy Kerber- keyboards
  • Neil Larsen – keyboards
  • Arno Lucas- background vocals
  • Johnny Mandel- orchestral arrangements
  • Andy Newmark- drums
  • Jeff Porcaro- drums
  • Leslie Smith – background vocals
  • Mark Stevens – drums, percussion
  • Fred Tackett- guitar, mandolin
  • Joe Turano – background vocals
  • Ernie Watts- horns
  • Willie Weeks- bass
  • Matthew Weiner- background vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Rickie Lee Jones, except where noted.

  1. Chuck E.’s in Love
  2. On Saturday Afternoons in 1963
  3. Night Train
  4. Young Blood
  5. Easy Money
  6. The Last Chance Texaco
  7. Danny’s All-Star Joint
  8. Coolsville
  9. Weasel and the White Boys Cool – Rickie Lee Jones, Alfred Johnson
  10. Company – Rickie Lee Jones, Alfred Johnson
  11. After Hours (Twelve Bars Past Goodnight)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.