On February 21, 1986.

King of America

On February 21, 1986, “F-Beat” label released “King of America”, the tenth Elvis Costello studio album. “King of America” was recorded in 1985 and 1986, at “Ocean Way” and “Sunset Sound & Sound Factory Studio”, and was produced by J. Henry (T-Bone) Burnett and Declan MacManus.


  • Elvis Costello – lead vocals, acoustic and electric guitar, mandolin
  • T-Bone Burnett- guitars, backing vocals
  • James Burton– electric guitar, Dobro, acoustic guitar
  • Tom “T-Bone” Wolk– electric guitar, piano accordion, electric bass
  • Tom Canning– piano
  • Steve Nieve– piano, Hammond organ
  • Mitchell Froom– Hammond organ, harpsichord, organ, doctored piano
  • Jo-El Sonnier– French accordion
  • Jerry Scheff– string bass, electric bass
  • Ray Brown– double bass
  • Bruce Thomas– electric bass
  • Mickey Curry– brushes, drums, sticks
  • Pete Thomas– sticks, drums
  • Jim Keltner– sticks, drums, brushes
  • Earl Palmer– brushes, drums
  • Ron Tutt– brushes, drums
  • Michael Blair –marimba
  • Ralph Carney- saxophone
  • David Hidalgo– harmony vocal

Track listing:

All tracks by Declan MacManus except where noted.

  1. Brilliant Mistake
  2. Lovable – Declan MacManus, Cait O’Riordan
  3. Our Little Angel
  4. Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood – Bennie Benjamin, Sol Marcus, Gloria Caldwell
  5. Glitter Gulch
  6. Indoor Fireworks
  7. Little Palaces
  8. I’ll Wear It Proudly
  9. American Without Tears
  10. Eisenhower Blues – B. Lenoir
  11. Poisoned Rose
  12. The Big Light
  13. Jack of All Parades
  14. Suit of Lights
  15. Sleep of the Just

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.