On February 3, 1997.


On February 3, 1997, “Virgin” label released “Earthling” the twentieth David Bowie studio album.  It was recorded March – August 1996, at “Mountain Studios” in Montreux, and at “Looking Glass Studio” in New York. This was the first album Bowie self-produced since 1974 “Diamond Dogs”, together with Reeves Gabrels and Mark Plati.


  • David Bowie– vocals, guitar, alto saxophone, samples, keyboards
  • Reeves Gabrels– programming, synthesisers, real and sampled guitars, vocals
  • Mark Plati– programming, loops, samples, keyboards
  • Gail Ann Dorsey– bass, vocals
  • Zachary Alford – drum loops, acoustic drums, electronic percussion
  • Mike Garson– keyboards, piano

Track listing:

All lyrics by David Bowie, all music by David Bowie, Reeves Gabrels and Mark Plati, except Track 4, 5 and 9 by David Bowie and Reeves Gabrels, Track 6 by David Bowie, Track 8 by David Bowie and Brian Eno.

  1. Little Wonder
  2. Looking for Satellites
  3. Battle for Britain (The Letter)
  4. Seven Years in Tibet
  5. Dead Man Walking
  6. Telling Lies
  7. The Last Thing You Should Do
  8. I’m Afraid of Americans
  9. Law (Earthlings on Fire)
  10. I’m Afraid of Americans

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.