On January 26, 1973.


On January 26, 1973, “DJM Records” released “Don’t Shoot Me I’m Only the Piano Player”, the sixth Elton John studio album. It was recorded in June 1972, at the “Château d’Hérouville” in Hérouville, France, and was produced by Gus Dudgeon.


  • Elton John– vocals, acoustic piano, electric piano, Leslie piano, Farfisa organ, harmonium, mellotron
  • Davey Johnstone– acoustic, electric, and Leslie guitars, banjo, sitar, mandolin, backing vocals
  • Dee Murray– bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Nigel Olsson– drums, maracas, backing vocals
  • Ken Scott– ARP synthesizer
  • Gus Dudgeon– brass arrangement
  • Paul Buckmaster– orchestral arrangement
  • Jacques Bolognesi –trombone
  • Ivan Jullien – trumpet
  • Jean-Louis Chautemps, Alain Hatot – saxophones

Track listing:

All tracks by Elton John and Bernie Taupin.

  1. Daniel
  2. Teacher I Need You
  3. Elderberry Wine
  4. Blues for My Baby and Me
  5. Midnight Creeper
  6. Have Mercy on the Criminal
  7. I’m Going to Be a Teenage Idol
  8. Texan Love Song
  9. Crocodile Rock
  10. High Flying Bird



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.