On January 22, 1969.

Neil_Young first album

On January 22, 1968, “Reprise” label released the debut, self-titled Neil Young studio album.  It was recorded August – October 1968, at “Wally Heider Recording”, “Sunset Sound Recording” and “TTG Recording” in Hollywood, and was produced by Neil Young and David Briggs. “The Old Laughing Lady,” “String Quartet from Whiskey Boot Hill,” and “I’ve Loved Her So Long” produced by Jack Nitzsche,Ry Cooder and Neil Young.


  • Neil Young— vocals, guitars, piano, synthesizer, harpsichord, pipe organ
  • Ry Cooder— guitar
  • Jack Nitzsche— electric piano
  • Jim Messina,Carol Kaye — bass
  • George Grantham,Earl Palmer — drums
  • Merry Clayton,Brenda Holloway, Patrice Holloway, Gloria Richetta Jones, Sherlie Matthews, Gracia Nitzsche — backing vocals
  • Danny Kelly — photography
  • Ed Thrasher— album art direction
  • Roland Deihl — cover painting

Track listing:

All tracks by Neil Young, except where noted

  1. The Emperor of Wyoming
  2. The Loner
  3. If I Could Have Her Tonight
  4. I’ve Been Waiting for You
  5. The Old Laughing Lady
  6. String Quartet from Whiskey Boot Hill – Jack Nitzche
  7. Here We Are in the Years
  8. What Did You Do to My Life?
  9. I’ve Loved Her So Long
  10. The Last Trip to Tulsa



4 thoughts on “On January 22, 1969.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.