On January 22, 1968.

Spirit first album

On January 22, 1968, “Epic” label released Spirit’s self titled debut album.  It was recorded August – November 1967, and was produced by Lou Adler.


  • Jay Ferguson– lead vocals, percussion, keyboards
  • Randy California– guitars, backing vocals, bass
  • John Locke– keyboards
  • Mark Andes– bass, backing vocals
  • Ed Cassidy– drums, percussion
  • Marty Paich- string and horn arrangements
  • Corporate Head – album design
  • Tom Wilkes – art direction
  • Guy Webster – cover photo
  • Jay Thompson – back cover photo

Track listing:

  1. Fresh Garbage – Jay Ferguson
  2. Uncle Jack – Jay Ferguson
  3. Mechanical World – Mark Andes, Jay Ferguson
  4. Taurus – Randy California
  5. Girl in Your Eye – Jay Ferguson
  6. Straight Arrow = Jay Ferguson
  7. Topaga Windows – Jay Ferguson
  8. Gramophone Man – Mark Andes, Randy California, Ed Cassidy, Jay Ferguson, John Locke
  9. Water Woman – Jay Ferguson
  10. The Great Canyon Fire in General – Jay Ferguson
  11. Elijah – John Locke



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.