On January 19, 1980.

Pretenders first album

On January 19, 1980, “Real Records” label released the debut self titled Pretenders album.  It was recorded in 1979 at “Wessex Studios” and “Air Studios” and was produced by Chris Thomas, except “Stop Your Sobbing” produced by Nick Lowe. In 1982 the album was certified Platinum in US by “RIAA”. In 1989 magazine “Rolling Stone” ranked the album at number 20 on its list at “Best Albums of the 1980s” and in 2003 at number 155 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of all Time”. In 2012, magazine “Slant” ranked the album at number 64 on its list of “Best Albums of the 1980s”.


  • Martin Chambers– drums, backing vocals
  • Pete Farndon– bass guitar, backing vocals
  • James Honeyman-Scott– lead guitar, keyboards, backing vocals
  • Chrissie Hynde– rhythm guitar, lead vocals
  • Geoff Bryant– horn
  • Henry Lowther– trumpet
  • Chris Mercer –saxophone
  • Chris Thomas– keyboards, sound effects
  • Jim Wilson – trumpet

Track listing:

All tracks by Chrissie Hynde, except where noted.

  1. Precious
  2. The Phone Call
  3. Up the Neck
  4. Tattooed Love Boys
  5. Space Invader – Pete Farndon and James Honeyman-Scott
  6. The Wait – Chrissie Hynde and Pete Farndon
  7. Stop Your Sobbing – Ray Davies
  8. Kid
  9. Private Life
  10. Brass in Pocket – James Honeyman-Scott and Chrissie Hynde
  11. Lovers of Today
  12. Mystery Achievement

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.