On January 16, 1998.


On January 16, 1998, “Virgin” label released “Moon Safari”, the debut Air studio album. It was recorded April to June 1997, at the “Around the Golf” and “Studio Gang” in Paris, and “Abbey Road” in London, and was produced byJean-Benoît Dunckel and Nicolas Godin . “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 93 on its list of “Best Album of the Nineties” ; the French edition of the same magazine, ranked  “Moon Safari” at  number 65 on its list of the “100 Greatest French rock albums”.

  • Jean-Benoît Dunckel– keyboards, synths, organ, vocals, piano, pan pipes, hand claps, glockenspiel
  • Nicolas Godin– bass, synths, percussion, vocals, guitar, hand claps, harmonica, glockenspiel, piano, organ, pan pipes, drums
  • Beth Hirsch– vocals
  • Enfants square Burcq – vocals
  • Alf (a.k.a. Stephane Briat) – hand claps
  • Caroline L. – hand claps
  • Marlon – drums
  • Eric Regert – organ
  • David Whitaker– string arrangement, conducting
  • Patrick Woodcock – guitar, trombone

Track listing:

All tracks by Air, except where noted.

  1. La femme d’argent
  2. Sexy Boy
  3. All I Need – lyrics by Beth Hirsch
  4. Kelly Watch the Stars
  5. Talisman
  6. Remember – co-written with Jean-Jacques Perrey
  7. You Make It Easy – lyrics by Beth Hirsch
  8. Ce matin là – co-written with Patrick Woodcock
  9. New Star in the Sky (Chanson pour Solal)
  10. Le voyage de Pénélope



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.