On January 15, 1990.


On January 15, 1990, “Elektra” label release “Flood”, the third “They Might Be Giants” studio album. It was recorded in 1989, at the “Skyline Studios” in New York, and was produced by They Might Be Giants, Alan Winstanley and Clive Langer.


  • John Flansburgh – songwriting, vocals, guitar, programming, mandolin, kitchen utensils, trumpet
  • John Linnell– songwriting, vocals, accordion, keyboards, saxophones, programming, melodica
  • Alan Bezozi – drum programming
  • Mark Feldman – violin
  • Rick McRae – trombone
  • Frank London, Charlie Sepulveda – trumpet
  • Marion Beckenstein, Joel Mitchell – vocals
  • The Skyline Staff – handclaps
  • Arto Lindsay– guitar
  • Roger Moutenot – whip
  • John Flansburgh, Elizabeth van Itallie – design
  • Helene Silverman – design consultant
  • Margaret Bourke-White– photography
  • Barbara Lipp – art assistance

Track listing:

All tracks by John Flansburgh and John Linnell, except where noted.

  1. Theme From Flood
  2. Birdhouse in Your Soul
  3. Lucky Ball & Chain
  4. Istanbul (Not Constantinople) – Jimmy Kennedy, Nat Simon
  5. Dead
  6. Your Racist Friend
  7. Particle Man
  8. Twisting
  9. We Want a Rock
  10. Someone Keeps Moving My Chair
  11. Hearing Aid
  12. Minimum Wage
  13. Letterbox
  14. Whistling in the Dark
  15. Hot Cha
  16. Women & Men
  17. They Might Be Giants
  18. Road Movie to Berlin

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.