On January 5, 1973.


On January 5, 1973, “Columbia” label released “Greetings from Asbury Park, N.J.”, the debut Bruce Springsteen studio album. It was recorded July – September 1972, at “914 Sound Studios” in New York, and was produced by Mike Appel and Jim Cretecos. The album had a poor commercial success (only 25.000. copies sold in the first year), but received positive reviews by the music critics. Magazine “Rolling Stone” ranked the album on number 379 on its list of “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Bruce Springsteen– lead vocals, acoustic and electric guitar, harmonica, bass guitar, piano, keyboards, handclaps
  • Clarence Clemons– saxophone, backing vocals, handclaps
  • Vini “Mad Dog” Lopez– drums, backing vocals, handclaps
  • David Sancious– piano, organ, keyboards
  • Garry Tallent– bass guitar
  • Richard Davis– upright double bass
  • Harold Wheeler– piano
  • Steven Van Zandt– sound effects
  • John Berg – cover design
  • Fred Lombardi – back cover design

Track listing:

All tracks by Bruce Springsteen.

  1. Blinded by the Light
  2. Growin Up
  3. Mary Queen of Arkansas
  4. Does This Bus Stop at 82nd Street
  5. Lost in the Flood
  6. The Angel
  7. For You
  8. Spirit in the Night
  9. It’s Hard to Be a Saint in the City

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.