On November 20, 1971.

Theres a riot

On November 20.1971, “Epic” label released “There’s a Riot Goin’ On”, the fifth Sly and the Family Stone” studio album. It was recorded in 1970 and 1971, at the”Record Plant Studios” in Sausalito, California, and was produced by Sly Stone. In 2003, “There’s a Riot Goin’ On” was ranked number 99 on “Rolling Stone” magazine’s list of the “500 greatest albums of all time”. The album was certified Platinum in the US by “RIIA”.


  • Sly Stone (Sylvester Stewart) – vocals, guitar, bass, keyboards, synthesizer, drums, drum programming, keyboard programming, arrangements
  • Bobby Womack– guitar
  • Freddie Stone– guitar
  • Ike Turner– guitar
  • Rose Stone– vocals, keyboards
  • Billy Preston– keyboards
  • Larry Graham– bass, backing vocals
  • Greg Errico– drums
  • Gerry Gibson – drums
  • Jerry Martini– tenor saxophone
  • Cynthia Robinson– trumpet
  • Little Sister– backing vocals
  • Chris Hinshaw, Jack Ashkinazy, James Conniff, James Greene, Robert Gratts, Willie Greer, Rich Tilles – engineer
  • Lynn Ames, John Berg – artwork concept

All tracks  by Sylvester Stewart.

  1. Luv n’ Haight
  2. Just Like a Baby
  3. Poet
  4. Family Affair
  5. Africa Talks to You ‘The Asphalt Jungle’
  6. There’s a Riot Goin’ On
  7. Brave & Strong
  8. (You Caught Me) Smilin
  9. Time
  10. Spaced Cowboy
  11. Runnin’ Away
  12. Thank You for Talkin’ to Me Africa

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.