On November 10, 1978.


On November 10, 1978, “CBS” label released “Give ‘Em Enough Rope”, the second Clash studio album. The band’s first album released in US was recorded in March and April 1978, at the “Basing Street Studios” in London, and in August and September 1978, at “The Automatt” in San Francisco, and was produced by Sandy Pearlman.


  • Joe Strummer– lead and backing vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Mick Jones– lead guitar, backing and lead vocals
  • Paul Simonon– bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Topper Headon– drums
  • Allen Lanier- piano
  • Gene Greif – cover designer
  • Hugh Brown – concept designer, cover photograph

Track listing

All tracks by Joe Strummer and Mick Jones, except where noted.

  1. Safe European Home
  2. English Civil War – traditional,  arranged by Joe Strummer, Mick Jones
  3. Tommy Gun
  4. Julie’s Been Working for the Drug Squad
  5. Last Gang in Town
  6. Guns on the Roof – Topper Headon, Mick Jones, Paul Simonon, Joe Strummer
  7. Drug Stabbing Me
  8. Stay Free
  9. Cheapskates
  10. All the Young Punks



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.