On October 26, 1973.


On October 26, 1973, “Columbia” label released “Head Hunters”, the twelfth Herbie Hancock studio album. It was recorded September 1973 at “Wally Heider Studios” and “Different Fur Trading Co.” in San Francisco, and was produced by David Rubinson and Herbie Hancock. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album on number 498 in the list of the “500 Greatest Albums of all Time”


  • Herbie Hancock: Fender Rhodes electric piano, Hohner D6 clavinet, ARP Odyssey synthesizer, ARP Soloist synthesizer
  • Bennie Maupin: tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone, saxello, bass clarinet, alto flute
  • Paul Jackson: electric bass guitar, marímbula
  • Bill Summers: congas, shekere, balafon, agogô, cabasa, hindewhu, tambourine, log drum, surdo, gankogui, beer bottle
  • Harvey Mason: drums
  • Victor Moscoso – design
  • Waldo Bascom – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Herbie Hancock except where noted.

  1. Chameleon – Herbie Hancock, Paul Jackson, Harvey Mason, Bennie Maupin
  2. Watermelon Man
  3. Sly
  4. Vein Melter

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.