On October 18, 1984.

Frank Zappa_Them_or_Us

On October 18, 1984, “Barking Pumpkin” label released “Them or Us”, the fortieth Frank Zappa album. It was recorded November 1981 – June 1984 (except “Planet Of My Dreams” and “Ya Hozna” recorded in 1974), and was produced by Frank Zappa.


  • Frank Zappa – lead vocal, guitar, keyboards, arranger
  • Johnny “Guitar” Watson– vocals, guitar
  • Ray White – vocals, guitar, choir, chorus, harmony and backing vocals
  • Steve Vai– guitar, soloist, fills
  • Dweezil Zappa– soloist, guitar
  • Tommy Mars – vocals, keyboards
  • Bob Harris – vocals, keyboards, harmony vocals
  • George Duke – vocals, keyboards, piano
  • Bobby Martin – vocals, keyboards, saxophone, falssetist, harmony vocals, harmonica
  • Brad Cole – piano
  • Patrick O’Hearn – wind, bass guitar
  • Arthur Barrow – bass guitar
  • Roy Estrada– vocals, backing vocals, choir, chorus, bass guitar
  • Scott Thunes– vocals, Minimoog, synthesizer, bass guitar
  • Chad Wackerman – drums, vocals
  • Ed Mann – percussion
  • Napoleon Murphy Brock– saxophone, vocals, harmony vocals
  • Moon Unit Zappa– vocals
  • Thana Harris – vocals
  • Ike Willis – vocals, backing vocals, choir, chorus, harmony vocals

Track listing:

All compositions by Frank Zappa, except where noted.

  1. The Closer You Are
  2. In France
  3. Ya Hozna
  4. Sharleena
  5. Sinster Footwear II
  6. Truck Driver Divorce
  7. Stevie’s Spanking
  8. Baby, Take Your Teeth Out
  9. Marque-son’s Chicken
  10. Planet of My Dreams
  11. Be in My Video
  12. Them or Us
  13. Frogs With Dirty Little Lips – Frank Zappa, Ahmet Zappa
  14. Whipping Post – Gregg Alman

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.