On October 17, 2000.

JohnnyCash American III Solitary Man

On October 17, 2000, “American Recordings” label released “American III: Solitary Man”, the 85th Johnny Cash album overall and the third album in the “American series”. The album was produced by John Carter Cash and Rick Rubin. “American III: Solitary Man” won “Grammy” award for “Best Male Country Vocal Performance” for Cash’s version of the Neil Diamond classic “Solitary Man”.


  • Johnny Cash – vocals, guitar
  • Norman Blake– guitar
  • Mike Campbell– guitar
  • June Carter Cash– vocals
  • Laura Cash – fiddle
  • Sheryl Crow– vocals, accordion
  • Merle Haggard– guitar, vocals
  • Will Oldham– vocals
  • Larry Perkins– guitar
  • Tom Petty– vocals, organ
  • Randy Scruggs– guitar
  • Marty Stuart – guitar
  • Benmont Tench– piano, organ, harmonium

Track listing:

  1. I Won’t Back Down – Tom Petty, Jeff Lynne
  2. Solitary Man – Neil Diamond
  3. That Lucky Old Sun – Haven Gillespie, Beasley Smith
  4. One – Bono, Adam Clayton, The Edge, Larry Mullen
  5. Nobody – Egbert Williams
  6. I See a Darkness – Will Oldham
  7. The Mercy Seat – Nick Cave, Mick Harvey
  8. Would You Lay with Me – David Allan Coe
  9. Field of Diamonds – Johnny Cash, Jack Routh
  10. Before My Time – Johnny Cash
  11. Country Trash – Johnny Cash
  12. Mary of the Wild Moor – Dennis Turner
  13. I’m Leavin’ Now – Johnny Cash
  14. Wayfaring Stranger – traditional

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.