On October 5, 1973.


On October 5, 1973, “DJM” label released “Goodbye Yellow Brick Road”, the seventh Elton John’s studio album.  It was recorded in May 1973, at the “Château d’Hérouville, in France, and was produced by Gus Dudgeon. “Goodbye Yellow Brick Road” is ranked at no. 91 on “Rolling Stone’s” magazine list of “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”. In 2003, the album was inducted in to the “Grammy Hall of Fame”.


  • Elton John– vocals, piano, Leslie piano, electric piano, organ, Farfisa organ, mellotron
  • Davey Johnstone– acoustic, electric, slide and steel guitars, banjo
  • Ray Cooper– tambourine
  • David Hentschel – ARP synthesizer
  • Dee Murray– bass
  • Nigel Olsson– drums, congas, tambourine
  • Leroy Gómez– saxophone
  • Dee Murray, Davey Johnstone, Nigel Olsson – backing vocals
  • Kiki Dee– backing vocals
  • Del Newman[– orchestral arrangements

Track listing

All tracks by Elton John and Bernie Taupin, except where noted.

  1. Funeral for a Friend – Elton John / Love Lies Bleeding
  2. Candle in the Wind
  3. Bennie and the Jets
  4. Goodbye Yellow Brick Road
  5. This Song Has no Title
  6. Grey Seal
  7. Jamaica Jerk-off
  8. I’ve Seen That Movie Too
  9. Sweet Painted Lady
  10. The Ballad of Danny Bailey
  11. Dirty Little Girl
  12. All the Girls Love Alice
  13. Your Sister Can’t Twist
  14. Saturday Night’s Alright for Fighting
  15. Roy Rogers
  16. Social Disease
  17. Harmony

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.