On October 1, 1974.


On October 1, 1974, “Island“ label released “Fear”, the fourth John Cale studio album. It was recorded in 1974, at the “Sound Techniques”, and “Olympic Studios” in London, and was produced by John Cale.


  • John Cale- vocals, bass guitar, guitar, keyboards, viola
  • Brian Eno- synthesizer, effects, executive producer
  • Phil Manzanera- guitar, slide guitar
  • Richard Thompson- slide guitar
  • Bryn Haworth- slide guitar
  • Brian Turrington – bass
  • Archie Leggatt – bass
  • Fred Smith – drums
  • Michael Desmarais – drums
  • Judy Nylon- lead vocals
  • Irene Chanter – backing vocals
  • Doreen Chanter- backing vocals
  • Liza Strike – girl’s choir, backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by John Cale

  1. Fear is a Man’s Best Friend
  2. Buffalo Ballet
  3. Barracuda
  4. Emily
  5. Ship of Fools
  6. Gun
  7. The Man Who Couldn’t Afford to Orgy
  8. You Know More Than I Know
  9. Momamma Scuba

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.