On October 1, 1973.


On October 1, 1973, “Atlantic” label released “Spectrum”, the debut Billy Cobham album. It was recorded in May 1973 at the “Electric Lady Studios”, in  New York City, and was produced by Ken Scott.


  • Billy Cobham – drums
  • Tommy Bolin – guitar
  • John Tropea – guitar
  • Jan Hammer- acoustic and electric piano, Moog synthesizer
  • Ron Carter- acoustic bass
  • Lee Sklar- bass guitar
  • Joe Farrell- soprano and alto saxophone
  • Jimmy Owens – trumpet, flugelhor
  • Ray Barretto- congas

Track listing:

All tracks by Billy Cobham.

  1. Quadrant 4
  2. Searching for the Right Door / Spectrum
  3. Anxiety / Taurian Matador
  4. Stratus
  5. To the Women in My Life / Le Lis
  6. Snoopy’s Search / Red Baron

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.