On October 1, 1984.


On October 1, 1984, “island” label released “The Unforgettable Fire”, the fourth U2 studio album. It was recorded May – August, 1984, at the “Slane Castle”, in County Meath and at the “Windmill Lane Studios”  in Dublin, and was produced by Brian Eno and Daniel Lanois.


  • Bono – lead vocals
  • The Edge – vocals, guitar, keyboards
  • Adam Clayton– bass guitar
  • Larry Mullen, Jr.– drums
  • Brian Eno – instruments, treatments, additional vocals
  • Daniel Lanois – instruments, treatments, additional vocals
  • Peter Gabriel– vocals
  • Chrissie Hynde– backing vocals
  • Paul Barret – fairlight

Track listing:

All lyrics by Bono, all music by Bono, The Edge, Adam Clayton and Larry Mullen Jr.

  1. A Sort of Homecoming
  2. Pride (In the Name of Love)
  3. Wire
  4. The Unforgettable Fire
  5. Promenade
  6. 4th of July
  7. Bad
  8. Indian Summer Sky
  9. Elvis Presley and America
  10. MLK

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.