On August 14, 1971.

Mahavishnu Orchestra Inner Mounting Flame

On August 14, 1971, “Columbia” label released “The Inner Mounting Flame”, the debut Mahavishnu Orchestra studio album . It was recorded in 1971, and was produced by John McLaughlin, Rick Laird, Billy Cobham, Jan Hammer and Jerry Goodman.


  • John McLaughlin – guitar
  • Jan Hammer – keyboards, organ
  • Jerry Goodman – violin
  • Rick Laird – bass
  • Billy Cobham – drums, percussion

Track listing

All tracks by John McLaughlin.

  1. Meeting of the Spirits
  2. Dawn
  3. The Noonward Race
  4. A Lotus on Irish Stream
  5. Vital Transformation
  6. The Dance of Maya
  7. You Know You Know
  8. Awakening

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.