Tag Archives: Teardrop Explodes

On October 10, 1980.


On October 10, 1980, “Fontana” label released “Kilimanjaro”, the debut Teardrop Explodes album. It was recorded in 1980, at “Rockfield Studios” in Monmouth, and was produced by Bill Drummond, David Balfe and Alan Winstanley. In 2000  “Q” magazine placed “Kilimanjaro” at number 95 in its list of the “100 Greatest British Albums Ever”.


  • Julian Cope– vocals, bass guitar
  • David Balfe– piano, organ, synthesizer
  • Gary Dwyer– drums
  • Michael Finkler – guitar
  • Alan Gill– guitar
  • Hurricane Smith, Ray Martinez – trumpets
  • Hugh Jones– engineer
  • Brian Griffin – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Julian Cope, Gary Dwyer and Michael Finkler; except where noted.

  1. Ha Ha I’m Drowning
  2. Sleeping Gas – Julian Cope, Gary Dwyer, Michael Finkler,Paul Simpson
  3. Treason
  4. Second Head
  5. Reward
  6. Poppies in the Field
  7. Went Crazy – Julian Cope, Michael Finkler
  8. Brave Boys Keep Their Promises
  9. Bouncing Babies
  10. Books – Julian Cope,Ian McCulloch
  11. The Thief of Baghdad
  12. When I Dream