Quintessence: Self

In May 1972, “RCA” label released “Self”, the fourth Quintessence studio album. Tracks 8 and 9 were recorded live in December 1971 at Exeter University, and the other tracks were recorded in 1972, at “Olympic Studios” in London. The album was produced by Sambhu Babaji, Maha Dev, Shiva Shankar Jones, Jake Milton, Allan Mostert and Raja Ram.


  • Allan Mostert – lead guitar
  • Maha Dev – rhythm guitar
  • Shiva Shankar Jones – vocals, keyboards
  • Sambhu Babaji – bass guitar
  • Jake Milton – drums
  • Raja Ram – flute, percussion

Track listing:

  1. Cosmic Surfer
  2. Wonders of the Universe
  3. Hari Om
  4. Vishnu Narain
  5. Hallelujad
  6. Celestial Procession
  7. Self
  8. Freedom
  9. Water Goddess (includes Ganga Mai)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.