Mdou Moctar: Afrique Victime

On May 21, 2021, “Matador” label released “Afrique Victime”, the fifth Mdou Moctar studio album. It was recorded 2020 – 2021, and was produced by Michael Coltun.


  • Mdou Moctar (Mahamadou Souleymane) – vocals, lead guitar
  • Ahmoudou Madassane – rhythm guitar, backing vocals  
  • Michael Coltun – bass guitar, drum machine, backing vocals, recording
  • Souleymane Ibrahim – drums, percussion, backing vocals  
  • Cem Misirlioglu – additional percussion
  • Kahlil Smylie, Kasper Frenkel, Matt Schuessler, Rob Schnapf – recording 
  •  Seth Manchester – mixing
  • Heba Kadry – mastering
  • Robert Beatty – artwork
  • Cem Misirlioglu – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Mdou Moctar.

  1. Chismiten
  2. Taliat
  3. Ya Habibti
  4. Tala Tannam
  5. Untitled
  6. Asdikte Akal
  7. Layla
  8. Afrique Victime
  9. Bismilahi Atagah

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.