Etta James: Tell Mama

In February 1968, “Cadet Records” label released “Tell Mama”, the seventh Etta James studio album. It was recorded in 1967, at “Fame Studios” in Muscle Shoals, Alabama, and was produced by Rick Hall.


  • Etta James – lead vocals
  • Jimmy Ray Jenkins, Albert Lowe – guitar
  • Marvell Thomas – piano
  • George Davis, Spooner Oldham – keyboards
  • Carl Banks, Barry Beckett – organ
  • David Hood – bass guitar
  • Roger Hawkins – drums
  • Gene “Bowlegs” Miller – trumpet
  • James Mitchell, Aaron Varnell – saxophone
  • Floyd Newman – baritone saxophone
  • Charles Chalmers – backing vocals

Track listing:

  1. Tell Mama – Clarence Carter, Marcus Daniel, Wilbur Terrell
  2. I’d Rather Go Blind – Billy Foster, Ellington Jordan, Etta James
  3. Watch Dog – Don Covay
  4. The Love of My Man – Ed Townsend
  5. I’m Gonna Take What He’s Got – Don Covay
  6. The Same Rope – Leonard Caston, Jr., Lloyd Webster
  7. Security – Otis Redding
  8. Steal Away – Jimmy Hughes
  9. My Mother In-Law – George David, Lee Diamond
  10. Don’t Lose Your Good Thing – Rick Hall, Spooner Oldham
  11. It Hurts Me So Much – Charles Chalmers
  12. Just a Little Bit – Rosco Gordon

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.