Horslips: The Táin

In December 1973, “Horslips Records” label released “The Táin”, the second Horslips studio album. It was recorded in November 1973, at” Escape Studios”, “Manor Studios”, and was produced by Alan O’Duffy, Jim Lockhart, John Fean, Charles O’Connor, Barry Devlin and Eamon Carr.


  • Jim Lockhart – keyboards, flute, tin whistles, uilleann pipes, backing vocals
  • John Fean – lead and backing vocals, guitars, banjo
  • Charles O’Connor – lead and backing vocals, fiddle, mandolin, concertina
  • Barry Devlin – lead and backing vocals, bass guitar
  • Eamon Carr – drums, bodhrán, percussions

Track listing:

  1. Setanta
  2. Maeve’s Court
  3. Charolais
  4. The March
  5. You Can’t Fool the Beast
  6. Dearg Doom
  7. Ferdia’s Song
  8. Gae Bolga
  9. Cú Chulainn’s Lament
  10. Faster Than the Hound
  11. Silver Spear
  12. More Than You Can Chew
  13. The Morrigan’s Dream
  14. Time to Kill


One thought on “Horslips: The Táin”

  1. I had initially worked Escape Studios engineering and producing musicians who included the superb David Rose, Theo Thunder and Billy Smth. They had been Leo Sayers band and then with Dick Heckstall Smith. During those sessions , a neighbour of the studio the wonderful Jeff Beck called by.. sadly it was only a social call so we didn’t get to have the wonder of his musical genius .
    My second production gig at Escape was with the Horslips .

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.