Noir Désir: 666.667 Club

On December 17, 1996, “Barclay” label released “666.667 Club”, the fifth Noir Désir studio album. It was recorded in 1996, and was produced by Ted Niceley, Bertrand Cantat, Serge Teyssot-Gay, Jean-Paul Roy and Denis Barthe. French edition of “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “666.667 Club” at number 12 on its list of the “Greatest 100 French Albums of all Time”. The album was certified 2 x Platium in France by “SNEP”.


  • Bertrand Cantat – vocals, guitars, harmonica, percussion
  • Serge Teyssot-Gay – guitars, organ
  • Jean-Paul Roy – bass
  • Denis Barthe – drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Frédéric Vidalenc – bass
  • Akosh Szelevényi – saxophone, kalimba, oboe, bass clarinet, Tibetan bells
  • Lajkó Félix – violin
  • Alain Perrier, Les Elèves De L’Ecole Nationale De Musique Et De Danse Des Landes, Patrice Labèque, Thierry Duvigneau – backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Bertrand Cantat, Serge Teyssot-Gay, Jean-Paul Roy and Denis Barthe, except where noted.

  1. 666.667 Club
  2. Fin de siècle
  3. Un jour en France
  4. À ton étoile
  5. Ernestine
  6. Comme elle vient
  7. Prayer for a Wanker
  8. Les persiennes
  9. L’homme pressé
  10. Lazy
  11. A la longue
  12. Septembre, en attendant – lyrics by Bertrand Cantat, music by Frédéric Vidalenc
  13. Song for JLP (bonus track, not listed in album cover)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.