Mott the Hopple: Brian Capers

In November 1971, “Island” label released “Brain Capers”, the fourth Mott the Hopple studio album. It was recorded August – September 1971, at “Island Studios” in London, and was produced by Guy Stevens.


  • Ian Hunter – vocals, guitar, keyboards
  • Mick Ralphs – lead guitar
  • Pete Watts – vocals, bass
  • Dale “Buffin” Griffin – vocals, drums
  • Verden Allen – vocals, keyboards
  • Jim Price – trumpet 
  • Guy Stevens – piano
  • Andy Johns – engineer
  • Zal Schreiber – mastering
  • Richard Polak – photography

Track listing:

  1. Death May Be Your Santa Claus – Ian Hunter, Verden Allen
  2. Your Own Backyard – Dion DiMucci, Tony Fasce
  3. Darkness, Darkness – Jesse Colin Young
  4. The Journey – Ian Hunter
  5. Sweet Angeline – Ian Hunter
  6. Second Love – Verden Allen
  7. The Moon Upstairs – Ian Hunter, Mick Ralphs
  8. The Wheel of the Quivering Meat Conception – Ian Hunter, Guy Stevens

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.