Johnny Griffin: The Congregation

In March 1958, “Blue Note” label released “The Congregation”, the fourth Johnny Griffin album. It was recorded in October 1957, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Johnny Griffin – tenor saxophone
  • Sonny Clark – piano
  • Paul Chambers – bass
  • Kenny Dennis – drums
  • Andy Warhol, Reid Miles – cover art

Track listing:

 All tracks by Johnny Griffin, except where noted.

  1. The Congregation
  2. Latin Quarter – John Jenkins
  3. I’m Glad There Is You – Jimmy Dorsey, Paul Mertz
  4. Main Spring
  5. It’s You or No One – Sammy Cahn, Jule Styne
  6. I Remember You – Johnny Mercer, Victor Schertzinger

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.