Michael Franks: The Art of Tea

In February 1976, “Reprise” label released “The Art of Tea”, the second Michael Franks album. It was recorded May – June 1975, and was produced by Tommy LiPuma.


  • Michael Franks – vocals
  • Michael Brecker – saxophone
  • David Sanborn – saxophone
  • Joe Sample – keyboards
  • Larry Bunker – vibraphone
  • Larry Carlton – guitar
  • Wilton Felder – bass
  • John Guerin – drums
  • Jerry Steinholtz – congas
  • Al Schmitt – recording, mixing
  • Lee Hershbrook, Bruce Botnick – recording
  • Doug Sax – mastering
  • Ed Thrasher – art direction, photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Michael Franks, except where noted.

  1. Nightmoves – Michael Franks, Michael Small
  2. Eggplant
  3. Monkey See – Monkey Do
  4. St. Elmo’s Fire
  5. I Don’t Know Why I’m So Happy I’m Sad
  6. Jive
  7. Popsicle Toes
  8. Sometimes I Just Forget To Smile
  9. Mr. Blue

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.