Joe Henderson: The Kicker

In January 1968, “Milestone” label released “The Kicker”, the debut Joe Henderson album. It was recorded in August 1967, at “Plaza Sound Studio” in New York City and was produced by Orrin Keepnews.


  • Joe Henderson – tenor saxophone
  • Mike Lawrence – trumpet
  • Grachan Moncur III – trombone
  • Kenny Barron – piano
  • Ron Carter – bass
  • Louis Hayes – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Joe Henderson except where noted.

  1. Mamacita
  2. The Kicker
  3. Chelsea Bridge – Billy Strayhorn
  4. If
  5. Nardis – Miles Davis
  6. Without a Song – Edward Eliscu, Billy Rose, Vincent Youmans
  7. O Amor Em Paz (Once I Loved) – Vinicius de Moraes, Ray Gilbert, Antonio Carlos Jobim
  8. Mo’ Joe

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.